Adding users (employees) to your Docket account is easy and fast. It's how you'll give your drivers, office staff, sales reps, and other employees access to Docket and/or the mobile app for day-to-day operations.
You can also manage your employees' timecards in Docket and monitor drivers' starting locations (if GPS is enabled in Docket's mobile app).
Before You Start
Here are a few things to know before you continue:
- Depending on your role/permissions, you may not be able to perform all of the actions in this article. Please reach out to your Admin if you need additional access.
- We recommend each user (employee) be added individually instead of sharing a single login so you can better track everyone's access permissions and activity in your account.
- Drivers must be added as Employees so you can assign tasks to them and so they can complete those tasks in the mobile app.
- Your contract will specify how many drivers you're able to add to your Docket account. If you add more than the amount stated in your contract, your monthly price will be adjusted accordingly.
- You cannot change an Employee's email address after you've added them.
Employee Roles
There are 5 different options to choose between when deciding what level of access you'd like each of your employees to have.
TIP: After you've added an Employee, you can customize their permissions to limit their access even further to just specific areas of your account.
Administrator
In addition to Account Owners, Administrators can access everything in your Docket account. This includes viewing and editing other Employee profiles.
Use this role for Employees who are helping you manage your Docket account that would need access to your account settings in the Account section.
Office Staff
Employees with the Office Staff role can access everything except for the Employee and Account sections.
You'll probably use this role the most when adding anyone other than Drivers since schedulers, dispatchers, and billing reps need this permission.
Sales Only
Employees with the Sales Only role can access everything except for the Employee and Account sections.
They can create invoices and view or edit invoices that they’ve created, but no one else’s.
Mobile Access
Employees with the Mobile Access role can only log into Docket's mobile app and aren't able to log into your Docket account through a web browser.
This role is primarily for your Drivers since the app shows them their assigned tasks and can track their GPS throughout their daily route to ensure efficiency.
No Access
Employees with No Access cannot log into your Docket account or the mobile app at all, but they'll still appear in your main Employees section.
Changing an Employees role to No Access is useful if that person no longer works for your business, but you don’t want to delete them just yet because they still have tasks that you need to reassign or activity you want to save for the future.
Add an Employee
Currently, there isn't a way to bulk import Employees, so to manually add someone to your Docket account, watch the above video or follow the below instructions:
- Click the "+ New" button in the top left corner.
- Click on "Employee" in the Add section.
- Select the Permission you'd like this Employee to have.
- Click "Continue to Invite" at the bottom.
- Enter the Employee's full Name and Email Address.
Please Note: The Email Address must be valid and have a working inbox where the Employee can access their Invite email. You won't be able to change the email address after adding them.
- Click the "Invite button" to add them.
The newly added Employee will receive an Invite email and they'll need to follow the instructions to set up a password for their profile's login.
For password setup and account login instructions, please review this article for all non-Drivers or this article for all Drivers.
Customize an Employee's Permissions
After you've added an Employee, you can further limit or expand their access directly from their profile to customize their role in Docket to better match their day-to-day responsibilities.
To do that, just follow the instructions below:
- Click on "Employees" in the left-hand menu.
- Click on the Employee you need to adjust permissions for.
- Click into their "Access" section.
- Review and adjust their permissions for each area of Docket that they have access to as needed.
- Click "Update Access" at the bottom to save your changes.
Role Defaults
You'll see a "Save as Role Defaults" button at the top of the Access section in each employee's profile.
Clicking that button will apply all of your permission changes/customization for this particular employee as the default permissions for ANY NEW employee with the same role moving forward.
For example, if you turn off access for an employee with the Office Staff role and then click "Save as Role Defaults", every new employee added with the Office Staff role will also have that access turned off.
There is no way to undo saving your customizations as a role's default, so make sure you want ALL NEW employees for that specific role to only have the particular access you've customized.
If you have any questions, please reach out to our Support team through the chat widget on the bottom of this page or by sending an email to support@yourdocket.com!